Car Seat Safety
Having your child driven by someone else is one of the most frightening scenarios for any parent. As a Nanny, it may help the parents you work for to know that you have a clean driving record, a safe vehicle and the complete knowledge of car-seat safety and law.
Buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself and your passengers in a crash. It is extremely important to make sure all children riding in your car are properly secured before every trip. Most collisions occur within a mile of the home – so buckle your child in a safety seat for every trip, no matter how short.
If you’re not confident in how to properly secure your child in a safety seat, ask your employer to provide a demonstration for you. You can also contact your local CHP Area Office, and ask to speak with a child passenger safety technician. Click on this link to locate a local area office anywhere in California.
- Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
- Children who are either (i) 8 years of age or (ii) have reached 4 feet, 9 inches in height may be secured by a safety belt in the back seat.
- Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California’s mandatory seat belt law.
A new law to be aware of is that effective January 1, 2017, children under 2 years of age must ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child (i) weighs 40 pounds or more or (ii) is 40 or more inches tall. The child must be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat.